Glossary Term


Glossary Term:



General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is a European data privacy law that took effect on May 25, 2018 intended to protect the privacy of individuals located inside the European Economic Area (EEA).

The European Economic Area consists of the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.  Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway are EEA member states, but not members of the EU. 

Even though the UK withdrew from the EU on January 31, 2020, the UK has a similar law, known as UK GDPR. 

For more detailed information about GDPR and UK GDPR as the University of Illinois, including a 5-minute video, follow this link

Related Research Topics